Memories

 

Today’s afternoon was not like the others

The sky colors were light blue, red orange, and gray

Memories from the past visit me into the present

Every day before classes started

Other kids and I used to stand still

In front of the flag with our hands in our hearts

All at once out loud

We used to pledge to the flag of the United States of America

And there it was, hidden in my memory

“I pledge alliance to the flag of the United States of America

And for the republic for which stands, one nation, one God,

Indivisible with Liberty and justice for all”

And somehow I began to cry wishing myself to get back to that place

Where I used to pledge to the flag and then play.

By: Alegnat Fontanez
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Responder

